Latest News Headlines

The ALD presents the talented 2016 Michael Northen Bursary Award Winners

The ALD presents the talented 2016 Michael Northen Bursary Award Winners

UK – The Association of Lighting Designers (ALD), has announced the winners of its prestigious Michael Northen Bursary Award, at an awards ceremony aligned with the recent ABTT Theatre Show. The Michael Northen Bursary is awarded annually to students or recent graduates of lighting studies in the UK, who have demonstrated strong, imaginative and creative lighting design. The award is bestowed in collaboration with the Mousetrap Foundation, alongside the generous support of sponsors Electronic Theatre Controls, and Stage Jobs Pro.

Committed to the ALD’s vision to springboard shining new talent in the arena of live performance lighting design, these supporters have enabled the expansion of the bursary from one to three awards. The awards were judged by a panel comprised of ALD-member lighting designers and industry professionals from a variety of different disciplines and backgrounds.

Mark Jonathan, deputy chairman of the ALD, hosted the ceremony and lighting designer Prema Mehta awarded The Michael Northen Bursary to Rory Beaton (Guildhall) for his impressive award entry and detailed submission which was felt to demonstrate his professional and comprehensive approach alongside well executed decisions. Commenting on what set him apart, the judges stated, “…Rory’s subtle, and clever use of colour really enhanced the mood and his approach to all his designs seemed entirely appropriate.”

The Francis Reid Award was presented to finalist Sana Yamaguchi (Central School of Speech and Drama), while the ETC Award was received by Jai Morjaria (RADA). Sana impressed with her concise presentation and with clear concepts. She caught the judges’ attention with her bold use of angles and colour choices. Jai’s submission demonstrated a strong vision for lighting design. His unique ideas, his attitude and processes throughout, particularly impressed the judges.

As the Francis Reid award had been established during his lifetime, it was with sadness that Mark Jonathan reported the recent death of Francis Reid. He paid tribute to the great contribution Reid had made to theatre lighting in Britain and across the World. Summing up, Jonathan stated: “His memory is now celebrated in this prestigious award."

Commenting on the high quality of 2016 award entries and winners, the ALD’s student representative Sean Gleason, confirmed: “The ALD is committed to the clear recognition of lighting as a vital creative element and these prestigious awards showcase the best talent of each year, highlighting students who understand and can articulate effective and emotive lighting design. It is our honour to present these awards and nurture these talented individuals as they shine a light on their own exciting career paths.”

In picture: Sana Yamaguchi, the ALD’s Sean Gleason, Rory Beaton, Jai Morjaria, lighting designer Prema Mehta and Mark Jonathan deputy chairman of the ALD and host of the awards. 

7th July 2016

© 1999 - 2021 Entertainment Technology Press Limited News Stories