Latest News Headlines

Theatres Trust reveals additions to impressive contributor line up for Conference 17

UK – Details of an impressive array of contributors for the Theatres Trust Theatres & Placemaking conference have started to emerge, as delegate bookings for this one-day conference rise. Taking place at Lyric Hammersmith on Tuesday 17 October, Conference 17 will discuss why and how theatres can engage with the placemaking agenda.

New contributors include:

Paul Callaghan, chair of Live Theatre and Trustee of Sunderland Music, Arts and Culture Trust, will explore the role of culture within regeneration as part of the MACQ (Music, Arts and Cultural Quarter) project in Sunderland, whose vision will see the restoration of an important area of Sunderland, re-establishing the area’s previous importance as the Edwardian heart and soul of the city.

Graham Lister, project director for Storyhouse Chester and Cllr Louise Gittins, deputy leader of Cheshire West and Cheshire Council will jointly discuss the recently opened Storyhouse in Chester and the important role local authorities play in supporting theatre and placemaking.

Daniel Rose, executive director, Mechanics’ Institution Trust will introduce the work of his organisation, a social enterprise and building preservation and development trust, and their motivation to bring the Swindon Mechanics’ Institution back to life and to nurture it as a community run organisation in a Grade II* listed building ready for the 21st century.

Hannah Garrow, fundraising and community engagement director, Leith Theatres Trust, will talk about their success in the re-opening and animating of Leith Theatre in Edinburgh, and the inclusive role it is playing in providing a versatile space to encourage a vibrant creative hub as part of the regeneration of the Leith area and the community it serves.

These join already announced contributors: Richard Blyth from Royal Town Planning Institute, David Byrne from New Diorama Theatre, Damian Cruden from York Theatre Royal, Anna Devlet from British Land and Angus Morrogh-Ryan from De Matos Ryan Architects.

Jon Morgan, director of Theatres Trust says: “We are delighted to have such an impressive line-up of contributors confirmed so soon. Each of our speakers will bring a different dimension to the debate during the day, with some excellent case study material as well as valuable insight into the placemaking agenda, and how the wider theatre industry can engage with it."

He continues: “With a new structure to the day, involving plenary as well as parallel sessions, there will be ample opportunity for all the delegates to engage with the topic and debate the issues with the diverse group of contributors. The number of ticket sales already suggest that the topic is one of interest to many key decision makers and influencers in the theatre sector. We would encourage those interested in attending to book now to ensure they join the debate at the best rate possible.”

Conference 17 is generously sponsored by theatre organisations, consultancies and manufacturers including: ABTT, Aedas Arts Team, Allies and Morrison, Audio Light Systems, BuroHappold, Charcoalblue, Chauvet Professional, EM Acoustics, ETC, GDS, GoboPlus, Harlequin Floors, Haworth Tompkins, Hawthorn, J&C Joel, LSI Magazine, Lyric Hammersmith, New Stages Ltd, Northern Light, Page\Park, Philips Entertainment Lighting, Plann, Really Useful Theatres Group, Stage Electrics, The Stage, Theatre Projects, Triple E and Unusual.

Delegate bookings are now open, and there are generous early bird discounts for delegates booking before Monday 28th August.

For more information on booking tickets please visit:

8th August 2017

© 1999 - 2020 Entertainment Technology Press Limited News Stories