Prague Quadrennial: Three Gold Medals for British Stage Design
The British exhibit at the 10th Prague Quadrennial (world exhibition and competition of stage design) scooped the top three awards for outstanding work at the televised Award Ceremony held at the Laterna Magika, Prague on 17th June.

Gold Medal for Costume Design
Nicky Gillibrand: A Midsummer Night’s Dream (RSC)
Gold Medal for Set Design
Richard Hudson: Tamerlano (Teatro alla Pergola, Florence)
Golden Triga - the top international award
British National Stage Design Exhibit

In 1979 and 1991 the British entry also won the top award - the Golden Triga - and remains the only country to have won this award more than once! The eminent international jury, judging between 54 competing countries emphasised the illuminating layout and presentation of the exhibition.
The British display reflected: excellence in British design for theatre and performance in the four year period 1999-2002; the work of set, costume and lighting designers; recent developments and current thinking in design, including the use of mixed media; work created for new performances spaces - both theatre-based and ‘found’ spaces.

The Prague Quadrennial continues until 29 June at the Industrial Palace in the Park of Culture and Recreation, Prague.

The British exhibit is financially supported by The British Council, The Linbury Trust and The Society of British Theatre Designers with additional sponsorship from practitioners and other industry supporters.

National Tour 2003-2005
The British entry to PQ’03 will form the core of a national touring exhibition entitled 2D>3D beginning in August 2003; visiting galleries in Plymouth, Salford, Carlisle and London. A substantial part of the funding has been secured by a grant from the Arts Council England National Touring Fund. Further funds are still required to take this important exhibition and accompanying education programme to the regions of the country.

Lez Brotherston, Paul Brown, Bunny Christie, Paul Edwards, Rick Fisher, Haworth Tompkins Architects, Richard Hudson, Richard Jones, Sophie Jump, Ralph Koltai, Ian MacNeil, Tanya McCallin, Antony McDonald, Fred Meller, Bruno Poet, John Risebero, Emma Ryott, Scale Project (Paul Burgess and Simon Daw), Vivienne Schadinsky, Ian Sommerville, Ian Teague, Sue Willmington.

For further information, contact:
Peter Ruthven Hall 020 7735 9966
National Commissioner for Great Britain

The panel of judges consisting of Maria Björnson, Kate Burnett, Kandis Cook and Peter Ruthven Hall, with support from Andrew Jones (British Council) and Jeremy Theophilus (Arts Council of England), selected the following exhibits from the 2D>3D exhibition at the Millennium Galleries in Sheffield in November 2002.

The criteria used for selection were loosely:
· excellence in British design for theatre and performance in the four year period 1999-2002;
· the work of set, costume and lighting designers;
· recent developments and current thinking in design, including the use of mixed media;
· work created for new performances spaces - both theatre-based and ‘found’ spaces.

1. Lez Brotherston A Midsummer Night’s Dream Katherine Doré Management
2. Paul Brown Richard II Almeida @ Gainsborough Studios
3. Paul Brown Coriolanus Almeida @ Gainsborough Studios
4. Paul Brown The Tempest Almeida @ Islington
5. Paul Brown Platonov Almeida @ Kings Cross
6. Paul Brown King Lear Almeida @ Kings Cross
7. Paul Brown Pelléas et Mélisande Glyndebourne
8. Bunny Christie Baby Doll Birmingham Rep
9. Paul Edwards Orfeo ed Euridice Opéra National du Rhin, Strasbourg
10. Rick Fisher Wozzeck Santa Fe Opera
11. Haworth Tompkins Almeida Gainsborough Studios, London
12. Haworth Tompkins Almeida Kings Cross, London
13. Richard Hudson Tamerlano Teatro alla Pergola, Florence
14. Richard Jones Ein Maskenball (A Masked Ball) Bregenz Festival, Austria
15. Sophie Jump Removed Seven Sisters Group
16. Ralph Koltai Genoveva Opera North
17. Ian MacNeil II ritorno d’Ulisse in patria Bayerische Staatsoper, Munich
18. Ian MacNeil Afore Night Come Young Vic, London
19. Tanya McCallin Macbeth Mariinsky Opera, St Petersburg
20. Antony McDonald Ein Maskenball (A Masked Ball) Bregenz Festival, Austria
21. Fred Meller Life with an Idiot The Gate, Notting Hill, London
22. Bruno Poet Orfeo ed Euridice Opéra National du Rhin, Strasbourg
23. John Risebero Closer ADC Theatre, Cambridge
24. Emma Ryott Ein Maskenball (A Masked Ball) Bregenz Festival, Austria
25. Scale Project New Town Novosibirsk, Siberia/The Arches
26. Vivienne Schadinsky London/My Lover Institute of Contemporary Art
27. Ian Sommerville Greek RNCM, Manchester
28. Ian Teague Macbeth Nuffield Theatre Education
29. Ian Teague A Midsummer Night’s Dream Nuffield Theatre Education
30. Ian Teague The Tempest Nuffield Theatre Education
31. Ian Teague Henry V Nuffield Theatre Education
32. Sue Willmington Genoveva Opera North

A Crowd of Dramatic Characters: 5 x costumes with artwork
Marie-Jeanne Lecca: Turandot (Salzburg Festival)

British Architectural Exhibition:
Avery Associates Vanbrugh Theatre (RADA, London)

Design Schools Exhibition
Britain exhibited the British design schools’ display previewed at 2D>3D. This incorporates the work of 21 establishments across the country.

Prague Quadrennial 2003: Jury Awards list

Golden Triga: United Kingdom

Best Realised Project in the Theatre Architecture Section
Gold Medal: Italy (Renzo Piano - Parco della Musica, Rome)
Silver Medal:
Spain (Catalonia): (Francesco Guardia, Nunez Yanowsky - Lliure Teatre, Barcelona)
Switzerland: (Laurits and Marnfred Ortner - Schiifbau, Zurich)
Honorary Diploma:
Russia: (A Vassiliev, S Gusarev, I Popov, B Thor - School of Dramatic Art, Moscow
Sweden: total exhibit

Best Theatre Costume
Gold Medal: Nicky Gillibrand (United Kingdom) – A Midsummer Night’s Dream
Silver Medal: Tarja Simonen (Finland) – Deer Woman and Rhino
Honorary Diploma:
Chang Hye-Suk (Korea) – Die Zauberflote
Diona Levintsa (Romania) – costume collection

Best Complex Realisation of a Single Production
Gold Medal: Lars-Ake Thessman sets, Karen Erskine costumes (Sweden) - Electra
Silver Medal: Ilmars Blumbergs (Latvia) – Die Zauberflote
Honorary Diploma: none

Best Set-Design Work
Gold Medal: Richard Hudson (United Kingdom) - Tamerlano
Silver Medal: Georgios Patsas (Greece) Persai
Honorary Diploma:
Harris Kafkarides (Cyprus) - Troades
Jorge Ballina (Mexico) several sets including Copenhagen

Special Silver Medals
Netherlands theatre exhibit, for its modern approach in presenting vital contemporary theatre
Russian theatre exhibit for the variety of its retrospective display of Boris Messerer
Taiwan theatre exhibit for its sense of national identity
Slovak theatre exhibit for its selflessness in choosing to present a memorial to Ales Votava

Special Honorary Diplomas
Canada theatre exhibit for its clarity and national spirit
Greek theatre exhibit for its presentation quality and for the work of its designers
New Zealand theatre exhibit for bringing a sense of play to the Quadriennale
USA theatre exhibit for its inclusivity and internationalism