Latest News Headlines

ABTT Technician of the Year 2017

ABTT Technician of the Year 2017

UK – The ABTT has presented Charlotte Lockyer with the Technician of the Year Award for 2017, at a ceremony held at the end of the first day of the annual ABTT Theatre Show at Alexandra Palace, north London. In front of a hugely appreciative audience of peers and colleagues from the Theatre Industry, Charlotte received a signed certificate, along with the coveted ABTT Hook-clamp trophy engraved with her name and award title, from ABTT chairwoman Louise Jeffreys, head of arts at London’s Barbican Centre and Robin Townley, ABTT Chief Executive.

Having achieved a BA(Hons) in Media and Cultural Studies at Bristol University, Charlotte graduated from the Royal Academy of Dramatic Arts (RADA) in 2007 with a Diploma in Theatre Technical Arts. She immediately joined Stage Technologies working in several departments, including Rentals, gaining a wide range of skills.

From there she went to work on West End and touring shows as an Automation No2, followed by a five-year stint in the National Theatre’s automation department, embracing six different automation systems as both operator and programmer for over 35 productions, including the monumental and prestigious “NT 50 Years on Stage” showcase spectacular.

Having acquired a wealth of experience, she returned to Stage Technologies in 2014, as a rental department automation engineer.

Promoted to a senior level at the beginning of this year, she is now head of controls for rentals. In her current role, she leads the skilled teams that install, commission and program the wide variety of theatre, film and

corporate productions that TAIT Stage Technologies support, both in the UK and overseas.

Charlotte’s fantastic understanding of the theatrical process has quickly gained her the reputation as an outstanding individual who can gain trust and respect from even the most discerning of production and artistic teams and, with a great career still ahead, a new generation of technicians are already benefiting from her skills and knowledge, as she regularly returns to RADA to teach automation to its current students, as well as installing automation equipment for student productions and sitting on the third year technical students’ assessment presentation panel.

The ABTT Technician of the Year Award is one of the most important accolades the Association of British Theatre Technicians bestows, as it recognises the achievement of an individual who is still in the heart of their career but who has consistently delivered technical excellence: recipients will have usually been pursuing full employment in a backstage or production management role for at least ten years, will have predominantly worked on the presentation of live performance in places of entertainment such as theatre, dance or opera productions in theatres and opera houses, or on theatrical experiences in non-conventional spaces, will have achieved a mastery of their chosen discipline or craft, will be recognised as an expert practitioner by their peers and will have achieved and promoted best practice throughout their career making a significant contribution to technical excellence in the delivery of world class performance.

Robin Townley, ABTT chief executive, stated: “The ABTT exists to promote technical excellence in live performance and we believe in acknowledging examples of best practice whenever we can. We seek to

support the technical and production sector by engaging and enabling technical practitioners and product suppliers. We are so pleased when we can recognise individuals who are leading the way with best practice in

any of the backstage disciplines. Charlotte is a fantastic recipient of the Technician of the Year Award who, although still only just into her career, has already established a tremendous reputation among her peers and

delivered at an incredibly high and consistent level. I congratulate her wholeheartedly on her achievement and the greatly deserved recognition that the ABTT Technician of the Year Award acknowledges.”

Charlotte joins an illustrious list of ABTT Technician of the Year winners, including: Steve Huttly (2016), Gavin Pell (2015), Peter Lambert (2014), Ben Sandford (2013), Andy Brown (2012), Alex Hitchcock (2011), David

Draude (2010), John Tapster (2009), Simon Stone (2008), Othman ‘Hoffman’ McGregor-Read (2007), Antony Bridges (2006, awarded posthumously), Stuart Crane (2005), Fraser Hall (2004), Andy Voller (2003) and Nick Ware (2002).

In picture: Robin Townley CEO ABTT, Charlotte Lockyer receiving the ABTT Technician of the Year 2017 Award, and ABTT chairwoman Louise Jeffreys.


23rd June 2017

© 1999 - 2024 ET Press Ltd News Stories